The Colts and Budgets

As I watched my Colts get smacked around last night by the Saints (side note – I grew up watching the Saints but was a Colts season ticket holder during the early 90s), I decided to apply my post Super Bowl blues (in honor of New Orleans) to review some more budgets in our county.

For those who have never done this, one of the methods is to take all the data and determine as a percent each line item of a budget. You then look for variances in year over year, or between like agencies to see where the money goes.

As I have started this process, I am noticing some rather large variances between various local governments for “like” budget items. I will keep the group informed if this develops into what appears to be an excessive use of taxpayer dollars that do not benefit the community.

Leave a Reply

