NRA-ILA ALERT – IMMEDIATE ACTION!

DATE:     February 5, 2010
TO:           USF & NRA Member and Friends
FROM:    Marion P. Hammer
                  USF Executive Director
                  NRA Past President

HB-651 by Representative David Rivera (R) is scheduled for a hearing in the House Natural Resources Appropriations Committee at 9:30 am, Wednesday, February 10.

HB-651 is a bill to STOP legislative raids from removing (confiscate) gun-owner money from the Division of Licensing Trust Fund – which holds the funds to administer the Concealed Weapons & Firearms Licensing program.

Last year, the legislature took $6 million from the Division of Licensing Concealed Weapons and Firearm Trust Fund that is intended, by law, to be used solely for administering the concealed weapons and firearms licensing program. (Read background information below)

Gov. Charlie Crist stood up for gun owners and VETOED that trust fund raid.

Representative Rivera’s bill will stop any future raids.

PLEASE IMMEDIATELY EMAIL Members of the Natural Resources Appropriations Committee!

In the subject line put:  SUPPORT HB-651 — Protect the DOL Trust Fund

(Block and Copy All email addresses into the “Send To” box)

Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
Leonard.Bembry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mary.Brandenburg@myfloridahouse.gov,
Greg.Evers@myfloridahouse.gov,
Adam.Fetterman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mark.Pafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov,
Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charles.VanZant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov,

BACKGROUND

HB-651 provides protection to the Division of Agriculture’s Division of Licensing Trust Fund which handles the fees paid by gun owners to administer the Concealed Weapons and Firearms licensing program.

In 1987, passage of the concealed weapons and licensing law had a financial contingency:

1. The legislature insisted that the statewide “Shall Issue” licensing process not require nor be dependent upon General Revenue or any government funding what so ever.  (Certain members of the legislature determined that no tax dollars ever be used to fund gun owner programs.)

2. The NRA, Unified Sportsmen of Florida and gun owners, insisted that licensing fees be only the amount necessary to administer the program, no more, no less.  Further, we insisted that the fees be held in a trust fund and used solely for the benefit of and administration of the program. 

That was the agreement and language was put in the bill to insure that the terms of the agreement were met.  At least it was language everyone THOUGHT would protect the agreement and the money.

We’ve kept our part of the agreement.  In the more than 22 plus years that this program has been in effect, not one single dime has ever come from general revenue or any other government fund. 

100% of the program funding has come from gun owners. 

The other half of the agreement needs to be kept.  Raids cannot be tolerated.

That money is held in “trust” until needed to administer the program, including buy or upgrade computers, buy or upgrade other essential equipment and stay technology in a position to run the program appropriately.

This specific trust fund needs to be protected because these funds facilitate the exercise of a constitutional right.

Advertisements

One Response to “NRA-ILA ALERT – IMMEDIATE ACTION!”

  1. Robert Says:

    Hooray for Mr. Rivera.Thank GOD we still have folks with common sense and guts.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: